2020     2019     2018     2017     2016     2015     2014     2013     2012     2011     older
2016 CMS G. de B. Robinson Award Recipients Announced (Oct 6)
Jim Agler (University of California, San Diego) and John E. McCarthy (Washington University, St. Louis) have been named the recipients of the Canadian Mathematical Society’s (CMS) 2016 G. de B. Robinson Award for their paper "Global Holomorphic Functions in Several Noncommuting Variables" (Canadian Journal of Mathematics Vol. 67:2 [2015] pp. 241-285).
Exceptional Mathematics Educator Recognized (Oct 4)
Donald Violette (University of Moncton) is the recipient of the 2016 Adrien Pouliot Award for his excellence in teaching and contributions to mathematics education in Canada, particularly in his home province of New Brunswick.

Violette’s incredible energy and passion have allowed him to work towards demystifying the subject of mathematics for students and the general public. Outside of teaching mathematics at the post-secondary level, Violette has kept busy with outreach activities, from conducting over 450 workshops benefiting nearly 17,000 students at local high schools, to initiating new programs and math competitions, which include concours de mathématiques Poincaré, concours de mathématiques de Möbius and concours de mathématiques de Sierpinski.

Jonathan Borwein, former CMS President, dies at 65 (Aug 3)

OTTAWA - It is with great sadness that the Canadian Mathematical Society announces the passing of our dear colleague and friend, Dr. Jonathan Borwein, Laureate Professor at the School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences at the University of Newcastle in Australia.

The CMS wishes to extend our sincere condolences to the family, friends and colleagues of Dr. Borwein. We are humbled to have been in the presence of a true visionary and leader, and we are truly grateful for his unwavering dedication to our rich and diverse community. 

CRM Doctoral Graduate Recognized for Research Excellence (Aug 2)

OTTAWA - The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce that Vincent X. Genest is the recipient of the 2016 Doctoral Prize. Dr. Genest will receive his award and present a lecture at the CMS Winter Meeting to be held in Niagara Falls, Ontario, December 2-5, 2016.

The CMS annually awards the Doctoral Prize to a doctoral student from a Canadian university who has demonstrated exceptional performance in mathematical research. The Doctoral Prize recipients are selected primarily based on the impact of their results and the creativity of their dissertations; other activities and accomplishments in the area of mathematics are also taken into consideration.

Math Team Canada 2016 places 12th at the International Mathematical Olympiad (Jul 15)
OTTAWA – Six Canadian high school students  are celebrating their 12th place success upon their return from the 57th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) in Hong Kong.

Each student earned an award for Canada after competing against over 600 students at the world’s most challenging high school mathematics competition.

Top six Canadian mathematics students selected for Math Team Canada (Jun 7)

OTTAWA — Six of the country’s best mathematics students will represent Canada as part of Math Team Canada. Qi Qi (Phillips Exeter Academy), Kai Sun (AB Lucas Secondary School), Kevin Sun (Phillips Exeter Academy), Jinhao Xu (University Hill Secondary School), Ruizhou Yang (University Hill Secondary School), and William Zhao (Richmond Hill High School) will represent Canada at the 57th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) in Hong Kong from July 4-16.

Top Canadian ‘mathletes’ earn honours in national math competition (May 16)
 OTTAWA - The top Canadian mathematical minds were revealed with the results of the 48th Sun Life Financial Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (CMO), which was held on March 30, 2016.  The top three students were Kai Sun, Jinhao Xu, and William Zhao. 
Daniel Wise wins the 2016 Jeffery-Williams Prize for a profound impact in mathematical research (Mar 29)
OTTAWA - McGill University Professor Daniel T. Wise is the recipient of the 2016 Jeffery-Williams Prize. Wise is widely recognized as one of the top geometric group theorists in the world, and the best of his generation. His work has had a profound impact, not only in the immediate subject of geometric group theory, but also playing a key role in the solution of outstanding open problems in the theory of 3-manifolds.

2016 CMS Excellence in Teaching award winner Ian VanderBurgh “promotes a love of mathematics among students and teachers” (Mar 24)
OTTAWA — University of Waterloo Lecturer Ian VanderBurgh's teaching has addressed diverse audiences, from struggling calculus students to Putnam students. His work has had a significant influence on the mathematical community among both students and teachers at large.

Louigi Addario-Berry awarded the 2016 Coxeter-James Prize (Mar 18)

OTTAWA – McGill University Associate Professor Louigi Addario-Berry is the recipient of the 2016 Coxeter-James Prize for his outstanding contributions to mathematical research. Louigi Addario-Berry works on the interface of probability and combinatorics, and “has emerged as one of the leaders of his generation in the area of discrete probability,” one referee said.

Malabika Pramanik awarded the 2016 CMS Krieger-Nelson prize for research excellence (Mar 8)

OTTAWA – University of British Columbia Associate Professor Malabika Pramanik is the recipient of the 2016 Krieger-Nelson Prize for her outstanding research contributions. Pramanik uses analytical tools to answer questions about pattern identification in sparse sets; that is, in finding regular structures within sets that are otherwise very disordered and thin.

The 48th Sun Life Financial Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (Feb 29)

The 48th Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (CMO) will be held on Wednesday, March 30, 2016. In North America, South America, and Central America and in time zones covering these areas, the competition will take place from 9 a.m. to 12 noon. Elsewhere in the world, the 3 hour writing period will be arranged in consultation with the CMS. All exams will be proctored by officials who are not family-related to any of the participants being supervised.

The CMO is open only to students who have received a direct invitation from the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS). The CMS will provide registration information to schools with eligible students in early March. Teachers must complete and submit the registration form with each student by March 18, 2016. Once registration is completed, the CMS will mail the competition kit directly to the exam proctoring official. 

Top students recognized in Canada’s premier national mathematics competition (Jan 14)
Three students have received top national honours in a three-way tie after competing with almost 6,000 students across Canada and internationally – in the 20th annual 2015 Sun Life Financial Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge (COMC).

Richard Chow (Albert Campbell Collegiate Institute, Toronto, Ont.), Thomas Guo (Olympiads Schools, North York, Ont.) and William Zhao (Richmond Hill H.S., Richmond Hill, Ont.) achieved the top score of 75/80 winning gold in the most prestigious category of Best in Canada Overall.