2020     2019     2018     2017     2016     2015     2014     2013     2012     2011     older
Thomas Salisbury to receive CMS 2015 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service (Nov 10)
York University Professor, Thomas Salisbury is the recipient of the 2015 Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service in recognition of his sustained and significant contributions to the Canadian mathematical community and to the Canadian Mathematical Society.
Adrien Pouliot Award recognizes contribution to Aboriginal mathematics education (Aug 20)
Mark Mac Lean (University of British Columbia) is the recipient of the 2015 Adrien Pouliot Award for his excellence in teaching and contributions to mathematics education in Canada, particularly Aboriginal education. He has worked with the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) on several Aboriginal mathematics education projects, including workshops for teachers.
Philippe Gille receives the 2015 G. de B. Robinson Award (Aug 10)
Philippe Gille is the recipient of the 2015 G. de B. Robinson Award for his paper Octonion algebras over rings are not determined by their norms (Canad. Math. Bull. Vol. 57 (2), 2014 pp. 303–309). The award is given out to recognize outstanding contributions to the Canadian Journal of Mathematics (CJM) or the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin (CMB). Gille’s paper is an example of how powerful abstract techniques in one area of mathematics can be used to decisively settle long-standing problems in another area.
Math Team Canada places 9th at the International Mathematical Olympiad (Jul 16)
Math Team Canada placed ninth out of 104 countries at the 56th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) in Chiang Mai, Thailand. The team achieved impressive individual results. Zhuo Qun (Alex) Song (Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, N.H.) and Kevin Sun (Phillips Exeter Academy) both earned gold medals and Yan (Bill) Huang (West Windsor-Plainsboro High School South, West Windsor, N.J.) Michael Pang (Fort Richmond Collegiate, Winnipeg, Man.), Alexander Whatley (North Houston Academy of Science and Mathematics, Houston, Texas) and Jinhao (Hunter) Xu (University Hill Secondary School, Vancouver, B.C.) earned bronze medals.
Top six Canadian mathematics students selected for Math Team Canada (Jun 12)
Six of the country’s best mathematical students will represent Canada this year as part of Math Team Canada. Yan (Bill) Huang (West Windsor-Plainsboro High School South), Michael Pang (Fort Richmond Collegiate), Zhuo Qun (Alex) Song (Phillips Exeter Academy), Kevin Sun (Phillips Exeter Academy), Alexander Whatley (North Houston Academy of Science and Mathematics) and Jinhao (Hunter) Xu (University Hill Secondary School) will represent Canada at the 56th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) in July.
Free public lecture at UPEI kicks off the Canadian Mathematical Society’s Meeting (May 29)
Richard Nowakowski will talk games in a public lecture on Friday, June 5 at 5 p.m. as part of the Canadian Mathematical Society’s Summer Meeting at the University of Prince Edward Island.  “Games in general have very nice mathematical formulas,” said Nowakowski. “It may look like there are a number of possible moves, but mathematical analysis focuses on just a few.”
Canada places sixth at Asian Pacific Mathematics Olympiad (May 19)
Ten remarkable mathematics students earned sixth place for Canada in the 27th Asian Pacific Mathematical Olympiad (APMO). Over 300 students from more than 30 countries wrote the four-hour APMO exam on March 9. “I am incredibly proud of our students,” said International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) Chair Dorette Pronk. “Placing sixth overall is a huge accomplishment and these students have worked very hard to compete at this level.”
Top seven Canadian ‘mathletes’ conquer Olympiad-level national competition (May 7)
The top Canadian mathematical minds were revealed with the results of the 47th Sun Life Financial Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (CMO), which was held on April 1, 2015.  The top three students were Alexander Whatley (1st Prize), Kevin Sun (2nd Prize) and Bill Yan Huang (3rd Prize). Four students received honourable mention for their outstanding CMO results including: Caleb Ji, Michael Pang, Zhuoqun (Alex) Song and Kai Sun.
2015 Doctoral Prize recognizes two remarkable Ontario graduates (Apr 28)
Two outstanding mathematicians Yuval Filmus (University of Toronto) and Hector H. Pasten Vasquez (Queen’s University) have been awarded with the 2015 Doctoral Prize. Yuval’s research is predominately focused in the area of extremal combinatorics and Hector completed his doctorate focused on number theory and logic. This is the first time that the Canadian Mathematical Society has awarded the Doctoral Prize to two recipients.
2015 Jeffery-Williams Prize winner Alejandro Adem sees the beauty in mathematics (Apr 13)
Alejandro Adem (UBC), one of the world’s leading experts in group cohomology and the geometry of group actions, is the recipient of the 2015 CMS Jeffery-Williams Prize. Alejandro is fascinated by the deep mathematics and beauty associated to symmetry groups, which manifest themselves both in nature and across a variety of scientific disciplines. He has supervised numerous students and postdocs, including 20 at the PhD level and has delivered over 300 lectures around the world.
‘Top young mathematician’ Dong Li awarded the Coxeter-James Prize (Apr 8)
University of British Columbia Professor Dong Li is one of the leading young mathematicians in Canada and the recipient of the 2015 CMS Coxeter-James prize. Dong is described as, “one of the top young researchers working the broad area of Analysis and Partial Differential Equations,” by his colleagues. His main research field is mathematical fluid dynamics, nonlinear dispersive equations and mathematical physics.
Jane Ye awarded the 2015 CMS Krieger-Nelson prize for research excellence (Mar 27)
University of Victoria professor Jane J. Ye is the recipient of the 2015 Krieger-Nelson Prize for her outstanding research contributions. Jane’s research includes optimization, optimal control theory and variational analysis, and its application in economics, engineering, management science, operations research and statistics. She has published over 70 articles and her work has been cited in almost 700 articles.
2015 CMS Excellence in Teaching Award winner challenges the ‘traditional’ lecture (Mar 6)
Simon Fraser University (SFU) Senior Lecturer Jamie Mulholland’s innovative teaching techniques have earned him the 2015 CMS Excellence in Teaching Award. Jamie’s colleagues describe him as a tremendously adaptable and flexible teacher –a master in the art of balancing the use of contemporary technology with face-to-face interactions.
Top students recognized in Canada’s premier national mathematics competition (Jan 13)
Sina Abbasi (Richmond Hill High School, Richmond Hill, Ont), Jinhao Xu (University Hill Secondary School, Vancouver, B.C.) and Henry Heng Xia (Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School, Vancouver, B.C.) were recognized as the top students in Canada for the 19th annual 2014 Sun Life Financial Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge (COMC).