2018 CMS Winter Meeting

Vancouver, December 7 - 10, 2018


Schedule - Plenary, Prize and Public Lectures

Friday December 7
17:00 - 18:00 Anthony Bonato (Ryerson University), Public Lecture, Dots and lines: from Trump to Harry Potter to Bitcoin, Pavilion Ballroom CD
Saturday December 8
11:00 - 12:00 Laura DeMarco (Northwestern University), Plenary Lecture, Complex dynamics and arithmetic equidistribution, Pavilion Ballroom CD

13:30 - 14:30 Henry Fowler (Navajo Technical University), Plenary Lecture, Naayee – The Warrior that Overshadows Poverty, Pavilion Ballroom CD

14:30 - 15:30 Anthony To-Ming Lau (University of Alberta), David Borwein Distinguished Career Award, Fixed point set for semigroup of mappings and harmonic analysis, Pavilion Ballroom CD
Sunday December 9
11:00 - 12:00 Florian Herzig (Univeristy of Toronto), Plenary Lecture, On the p-adic Langlands program, Pavilion Ballroom CD

13:30 - 14:30 Maksym Radziwill (McGill University), Coxeter-James Prize, Recent progress in multiplicative number theory, Pavilion Ballroom CD

14:30 - 15:30 Ian VanderBurgh (University of Waterloo), Adrien Pouliot Award, The CEMC: beyond contests to enrichment and curriculum, Pavilion Ballroom CD
Monday December 10
9:30 - 10:30 Anita Layton (University of Waterloo), Plenary Lecture, Modeling and Simulation for Drug Development, Pavilion Ballroom CD

11:00 - 12:00 Yaniv Plan (University of British Columbia), Plenary Lecture, The role of random models in compressive sensing and matrix completion, Pavilion Ballroom CD

13:30 - 14:30 Thomas Hutchcroft (Cambridge University), Doctoral Prize, Phase transitions in hyperbolic spaces, Pavilion Ballroom CD

© Canadian Mathematical Society : http://www.cms.math.ca/