Réunion d'hiver SMC 2014

Université McMaster, 5 - 8 décembre 2014


Prix David-Borwein de mathématicien émérite pour l'ensemble d'une carriére et conférence

KENNETH R. DAVIDSON, University of Waterloo
Noncommutative dilation theory  [PDF]

Dilation theory of a single operator began in 1953 with Bela Sz.Nagy's result that every operator on Hilbert space with norm at most 1 is the upper corner of a 2x2 lower triangular operator matrix which is an isometry. This led to a powerful functional calculus for studying a single operator on Hilbert space. In 1968, William Arveson set out a general theory for studying nonself-adjoint subalgebras of C*-algebras through their representation theory, and the main pillar was a generalization of the Sz.Nagy dilation theory. In the past four decades, these ideas have been developed into a major tool for studying these algebras. I will survey some of these ideas.


McMaster University Centre de recherches mathématiques AARMS: Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences Fields Institute Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences Tourism Hamilton

© Société mathématique du Canada : http://www.smc.math.ca/