2010 CMS Winter Meeting
Coast Plaza Hotel and Suites, Vancouver, December 4 - 6, 2010


AARMS: Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences

Centre de recherches mathématiques

Fields Institute


Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

University of British Columbia

Simon Fraser University

University of Alberta

University of Victoria

[Registration is closed, on-site registration only]

The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) and the University of British Columbia invite the mathematical community to the 2010 CMS Winter Meeting. The program will include ten plenary and prize lectures, and a wide variety of sessions.

All scientific talks and social events will take place at the Coast Plaza Hotel and Suites (1763 Comox Street, Vancouver).

Several events are planned for students: A student social, a panel discussion and a poster session. Details will follow shortly.

Prizes and Awards

Adrien Pouliot Award - Miroslav Lovric (McMaster)
David Borwein Distinguished Career Award - Nassif Ghoussoub (UBC)
Doctoral Prize - Benjamin Young (KTH Stockholm)
G. de B. Robinson Award - Andrew Toms (Purdue), Wilhelm Winter (Nottingham, UK)
Graham Wright Award for Distinguished Service - Robert Woodrow (Calgary)
Krieger-Nelson Prize - Lia Bronsard (McMaster)

Plenary Speakers

David Aldous (UC-Berkeley)
David Donoho (Stanford)
Sujatha Ramdorai (Tata Institute; UBC)
Peter Sarnak (Princeton)
Carl Wieman (UBC)
Tamar Ziegler (Technion)

Public Lecture

Ron Graham (UC-San Diego)

Student Poster Awards:
AARMS Award - Peter Bell (UBC)
CMS President's Award - Brittany Froese (SFU)
CMS Student Committee Award - Garret Flowers (Victoria)

NSERC Long Range Strategy Plan
NSERC Research Funding Panel
CMS Town Hall Meeting

Scientific Directors: Brian Marcus (UBC), Jozsef Solymosi (UBC)

© Canadian Mathematical Society :