2011 CMS Summer Meeting
University of Alberta, Edmonton, June 3 - 5, 2011


University of Alberta

University of Alberta, Campus Saint-Jean

AARMS: Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences

Centre de recherches mathématiques

Fields Institute


Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

University of British Columbia

[Registration is closed, on-site registration only]

The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) and the University of Alberta invite the mathematical community to the 2011 CMS Summer Meeting.

All scientific talks and social events will take place at the University of Alberta. Registration, exhibits and coffee breaks are located in the Centennial Centre for Interdisciplinary Science (CCIS). (map)

2011 marks the 100th anniversary of the first undergraduate degree awarded at the University of Alberta and the 50th anniversary of the first doctoral degree awarded in the Department of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences.

Excellence in Teaching Award Lecture - Yvan Saint-Aubin (Montréal)
Jeffery-Williams Prize Lecture - Kai Behrend (UBC)
Krieger-Nelson Prize Lecture - Rachel Kuske (UBC)

Public Lecture

Gerda de Vries (Alberta)

Plenary Speakers

Leah Edelstein-Keshet (UBC)
Olga Holtz (UC Berkeley; TU Berlin)
François Lalonde (Montréal)
Bjorn Poonen (MIT)
Roman Vershynin (Michigan)

AARMS-CMS Student Poster Award Winner:
Philippe Gaudreau (Alberta, Campus Saint-Jean)

NEW NSERC and the Canadian Mathematics Community, Suzanne Fortier (NSERC President)
Women Mathematicians’ Lunch
NSERC Long Range Strategy Plan
NSERC Research Funding
AARMS-CMS Graduate Student Poster Session

Scientific Directors: Volker Runde, Hassan Safouhi (Alberta)

The web banner for the 2011 Summer Meeting incorporates elements of the new University of Alberta Faculty of Science Centennial Centre for Interdisciplinary Science (CCIS). The nearly 40,000 sq. ft. terrazzo floor of the building was designed by artist Scott Parsons. We would like to thank the Faculty of Science for permitting us to use these images.

© Canadian Mathematical Society :