2010 CMS Summer Meeting
University of New Brunswick (Fredericton), June 4 - 6, 2010


AARMS: Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences

Centre de recherches mathématiques

Fields Institute


Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

[Registration is closed, on-site registration only]

The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) and the University of New Brunswick invite the mathematical community to the 2010 CMS Summer Meeting. The program will include ten plenary and prize lectures, and a wide variety of sessions.

The public lecture and the Nelson Welcome Reception on Thursday evening take place in the Student Union Building on the university campus. From Friday to Sunday, all scientific talks will be located in Marshall D'Avery Hall, exhibits and registration will be located in the South Gym.

Several events are planned for students: A student social, a panel discussion on the hiring process and a poster session.

Prizes and Awards

Coxeter-James Prize - Bálint Virág (Toronto)
Excellence in Teaching Award - Jennifer Hyndman (UNBC)
Jeffery-Williams Prize - Mikhail Lyubich (Stony Brook)

Plenary Speakers

H E A Eddy Campbell (UNB)
Gerda de Vries (Alberta)
Henri Moscovici (Ohio State)
Idun Reiten (Norwegian Univ. of Science and Technology)
Kristin Schleich (UBC)
Gunther Uhlmann (Washington)

Public Lecture

Jason Brown (Dalhousie)

Student Poster Awards:
AARMS Award - Fan Yu (UNB)
CMS President's Award - Xiao Liu (Toronto)
CMS Student Committee Award - Brendan Wood (UNB)

The Cryptologic Research Institute (CRI) (Hugh Williams, Director)
NSERC Discovery Grants (Catherine Podeszfinski, Program Officer)

Related conferences and workshops:
Canadian Operator Algebra Symposium, June 7-11, Organizers: Dan Kucerovsky, Andrew Dean
Satellite Workshop on Non-commutative Geometry, June 7-9, Organizers: A. Gorokhovsky, M. Khalkhali, B. Rangipour
2nd Annual Atlantic Mathematical Biology Workshop, June 7-8, Organizer: James Watmough

Scientific Directors: Hugh Thomas (UNB), Barry Monson (UNB)
Chair, Local Arrangements: Maureen Tingley (UNB)


© Canadian Mathematical Society :