2012 CMS Summer Meeting
Regina Inn and Ramada Hotels (Regina~Saskatchewan), June 2 - 4, 2012

Schedules - Plenary, Prize and Public Lectures

The plenary and public lectures, registration, exhibits, social events, and coffee breaks are located at the Regina Inn. The scientific talks take place at the Regina Inn and the Ramada Hotel ("RH").

Friday June 1
18:00 - 19:00 John Fyfe (Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis; Victoria), Public Lecture, Mathematics and Climate Change, Kenosee
Saturday June 2
8:30 - 9:20 Marius Junge (Illinois-Urbana Champaign), Plenary Speakers, From Bell inequalities to the Grothendieck program in Operator Algebras, Kenosee

11:30 - 12:20 Veselin Jungic (SFU), Excellence in Teaching Award Lecture, The Blended Learning Approach to Teaching a Calculus Class: What May Change and What Should Stay the Same, Kenosee

15:00 - 15:50 Margaret Walshaw (CERME; Massey, NZ), Plenary Speakers, Characteristics of effective teaching for diverse mathematics learners, Kenosee

18:00 - 19:30 Malgorzata Dubiel (SFU), 2011 Adrien Pouliot Award, Mathematics for Elementary Teachers – The Most Important Course You Can Teach?, Kenosee
Sunday June 3
10:30 - 11:20 Ulrike Tillmann (Oxford), Plenary Speakers, Manifolds and Topological Field Theory, Kenosee

11:30 - 12:20 Ailana Fraser (University of British Columbia), Krieger-Nelson Prize Lecture, An eigenvalue problem and minimal surfaces in the ball, Kenosee

15:00 - 15:50 Dror Bar-Natan (Toronto), Plenary Speakers, Meta-Groups, Meta-Bicrossed-Products, and the Alexander Polynomial, Kenosee
Monday June 4
10:30 - 11:20 Greg Smith (Queen's University), Coxeter-James Prize, Polytopes and Syzygies, Kenosee

11:30 - 12:20 Lisa Jeffrey (Toronto), Plenary Speakers, Equivariant K-theory of the based loop group of SU(2), Kenosee

Event Sponsors

University of Regina Regina Hotel Association AARMS: Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences Centre de recherches mathématiques Fields Institute Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

Support from these sponsors is gratefully acknowledged.

© Canadian Mathematical Society :