

#### CANADIAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY (CMS)

### **2014 CMS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES**

SUNDAY, JUNE 8, 2014 (12:30 P.M. – 1:00 P.M.) BALLROOM C, DELTA WINNIPEG, 350 ST. MARY AVENUE, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA

### **1.0 Welcome** [Keith Taylor, CMS President]

## **2.0 Declaration of Quorum** [Johan Rudnick, CMS Corporate Secretary]

Noted: A quorum was declared.

# **3.0** Approval of 2013 AGM Meeting Minutes [Keith Taylor, President CMS]

Document: Draft Minutes of the June 2013 AGM in Halifax, Nova Scotia

Motion: "That the draft 2013 AGM Meeting Minutes be Approved."

Proposed: Moved by Angelo Mingarelli (Carleton) and seconded by Rossitza Marinova

(Concordia)

Vote: For: All; Opposed: None; MOTION APPROVED.

## **4.0** Approval of the 2013 Audited Financial Statements [Keith Taylor, President CMS]

Document: 2013 Financial Statements

Motion: That the 2013 Audited Financial Statements be approved."

Proposed: Moved by Joy Morris (Leithbridge) and seconded by Patrick Ingram (Colorado)

Vote: For: All; Opposed: None; MOTION APPROVED.

## **5.0** Approval of the 2014 CMS Auditor [Keith Taylor, President CMS]

Motion: "That Ray Folkins be approved as the 2014 CMS Auditor."

Proposed: Moved by Karl Dilcher (Dalhousie) and seconded by Robert Woodrow (Calgary)

Vote: For: All; Opposed: None; MOTION APPROVED.

#### **6.0** Approval of Special Resolution [Keith Taylor, President CMS]

Document: Special Resolution

Note: The Special Resolution includes: Annex A, Form 4031 Articles of Continuance

(transition); and Annex B, the new CMS general operating by-law.

Changes: A number of amendments to the proposed text were noted:

a) Punctuation and language agreements to be corrected;

b) Section 5 numbering to be corrected; and

c) Section 8.01, replace French explanatory text with 'Les administrateurs et les dirigeants de l'organisation ne seront pas rénumérés pour leurs services.'

Motion: 'That the Special Resolution, as amended, be approved.'

Proposed: Moved by Robert Woodrow (Calgary) and seconded by Michael Doob

(Manitoba).

Vote: For: All; Opposed: None; MOTION APPROVED.

# 7.0 Authorize the CMS Board of Directors to Vary Board Size [Keith Taylor, CMS President]

Motion: 'As per new CMS By-law 6.02, Number of Directors, the CMS Board of Directors

may change the number of Directors constituting the CMS Board Directors.'

Proposed: Moved by Ram Murty (Queen's) and seconded by Eddy Campbell (UNB

Vote: For: All; Opposed: None; MOTION APPROVED.

### **8.0** Authorize the CMS Board of Directors to Designate Directors [Keith Taylor, CMS President]

Motion: 'As per CMS By-law 6.02, Election of Directors, the CMS Board of Directors may

determine the designation of the Directors constituting the CMS Board of

Directors.'

Moved:

Moved by Irena Papst (McMaster) and seconded by Svenja Huntemann

(Dalhousie)

Vote: For: All; Opposed: None; MOTION APPROVED.

### **9.0** Report of the President and Questions and Answers [Keith Taylor, President CMS]

#### **10.0** Adjournment [Keith Taylor, CMS President]

Prepared by: Johan Rudnick

CMS Corporate Secretary