[The CMS has been asked to draw attention to the following conference.]

Jonathan Borwein Commemorative Conference

Mon, September 25, 2017 - Fri, September 29, 2017

Location: Noah's on the Beach, Newcastle, Australia

Register Now: https://carma.newcastle.edu.au/meetings/jbcc/registration/

The University of Newcastle will be holding a conference to commemorate the life and work of Laureate Professor Jonathan Borwein, who passed away unexpectedly in 2016.

The conference will be held 25 - 29 September 2017 at "Noah's on the Beach" overlooking the ocean at Newcastle. Highlights include a public lecture by Keith Devlin (Stanford University), talks by Terry Rockafellar and Bruce Berndt, and a fantastic Night of Magic. Registration is now available at https://carma.newcastle.edu.au/meetings/jbcc/registration/

The breadth and impact of Jon's achievements in mathematics are extraordinary. These will be commemorated in five themed sessions around which the conference will be organized:
  • Applied Analysis, Optimization and Convex Functions, chaired by Regina Burachik
  • Education, chaired by Judy-anne Osborn and Naomi Borwein
  • Experimental Mathematics, chaired by David H. Bailey
  • Financial Mathematics, chaired by Qiji (Jim) Zhu
  • Number Theory, Special Functions and Pi, chaired by Richard Brent
Each session will be opened by a keynote address by the chair or delegated key collaborator of Jon in the area, reflecting upon Jon's work in the field, its impact, and extensions. Talks will broadly engage with these areas of research.

All talks are by invitation. Anyone interested in speaking should contact the chair of the relevant theme or the overall conference chair to request an invitation. While we will do our best to fit you in, the number of talks is limited and we expect interest will be high, so don't be disappointed if we are unable to accommodate you.

A proceedings will be published by Springer, edited (in chief) by Brailey Sims.


David Bailey (University California – Davis, USA)
Naomi Borwein (University Newcastle)
Ljiljana Brankovic (University. Newcastle)
Jeff Hogan (University Newcastle) – chair
Judy-anne Osborn (University Newcastle)
Brailey Sims (University Newcastle)
Juliane Turner (University Newcastle)