MEDIA RELEASE — May 19, 2017

Canadian Mathematical Society

May 19, 2017

49th Canadian Mathematical Olympiad Winners

OTTAWA, Ontario— Eight students receive top honours in the 49th Canadian Mathematical Olympiad (CMO).

The CMO, Canada’s premier mathematics competition for high school students, is organized and administered by the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS). A total of 81 students from 50 different schools wrote the 2017 CMO, selected on the basis of their performance in the 2016 Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge (written by over 6,500 in November 2016 and sponsored by Sun Life Financial) as well as provincial mathematics competitions. Students had to solve five difficult questions during the three-hour 2017 CMO examination held on March 29, 2017.

“It's exciting to see the wide variety of creative solutions that these students can devise under intense time pressure.” said Neal Madras, Chair of the CMO Committee. “The CMS is proud to recognize their excellent achievements”

2017 Prize Winners: The top winners in the 49th Canadian Mathematical Olympiad are:

FIRST PRIZE and the Canadian Mathematical Olympiad Cup – Thomas Guo (Olympiads School) North York & (William Berczy Public School) Markham;
SECOND PRIZE – Rui Ming (Max) Xiong (Western Canada High School), Calgary;
THIRD PRIZE – Victor Rong (Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute), Toronto.

HONOURABLE MENTIONS were awarded to:

William Zhao (Richmond Hill High School), Richmond Hill;
Jason Yuen (Pierre Elliott Trudeau High School), Markham;
Daniel Zhou (Centennial Collegiate), Saskatoon;
Edward Jiang (Moscrop Secondary School), Burnaby;
Michael Li (Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute), Toronto.

Performance in the CMO and other national and international competitions is the basis for determining the six high school students who will represent Canada at the 58th International Mathematical Olympiad in Brazil (July 2017) – the World Championship Mathematical Competition. Math Team Canada will be honoured at the CMS IMO Send-off Reception which will take place at the Faculty Club, Main Lounge, University of Toronto, on Thursday, June 29, 2017, from 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

“All of these winners have done exceptionally well in an extremely challenging competition. The students who participate in these competitions develop the creative problem-solving skills so valuable in today's competitive workplace.” said Dr. Graham Wright, Executive Secretary, Canadian Mathematical Society.

The Society is very grateful for the support of the following sponsors and partners:

Prime Sponsor
Sun Life Financial

National Sponsors
Maplesoft, Nelson Education, RBC Foundation,

Academic Partners
Dalhousie University, Memorial University, Department of Mathematics and Statistics University of Saskatchewan, University of British Columbia, University of Calgary, University of Manitoba, University of New Brunswick, University of Prince Edward Island, University of Toronto, York University

Government Partners
Manitoba, Newfoundland, Northwest Territories, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec

Additional Sponsors
Banff International Research Station (BIRS),, Centre de Recherches Mathématiques (CRM), Fields Institute, McLean Foundation, Pacific institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS), Popular Book Company

Problems, solutions and other contest information are available at:

For more information, contact:

Graham Wright
Executive Secretary
Canadian Mathematical Society
613-733-2662 ext. 713
Neal Madras (York University)
Chair, Canadian Mathematical Olympiad Committee
Tel: 416-736-5250