MEDIA RELEASE — March 20, 2014

Canadian Mathematical Society

March 20, 2014


Marco Gualtieri to Receive 2014 CMS Coxeter-James Prize

Marco Gualtieri (University of Toronto)

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to announce that Dr. Marco Gualtieri (University of Toronto) is the recipient of the 2014 Coxeter-James Prize. The prize will be awarded in June at the Society’s Summer Meeting in Winnipeg.

The Coxeter-James Prize was inaugurated in 1978 to recognize young mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions in mathematical research. This award is named on behalf of former CMS president Donald Coxeter, who is recognized as one of the world’s best geometers, and for former CMS president Ralph Duncan James, who was a great contributor to mathematical development in Canada.

“Marco Gualtieri is a gifted mathematician whose groundbreaking study of special geometric structures has had a major impact on mathematical research in Canada,” said CMS President, Keith Taylor. “Marco’s achievements at such a young age make him truly deserving of the Coxeter-James Prize.”

Marco Gualtieri works at the interface between differential geometry and theoretical physics. The mathematical models developed by physicists to describe the behaviour and properties of the elementary forces in nature are comprised of many intricate "moving parts", each of which is a system of geometric structures occupying various dimensions and often having interesting symmetries.

“Marco Gualtieri has demonstrated outstanding research abilities; he is one of the very best Canadian mathematicians in his generation,” said Denis Auroux (Berkeley) in his award nomination letter for Gualtieri. “His geometric intuition, versatility, and overall potential make him a very natural candidate for the Coxeter-James Prize.”

Professor Marco Gualtieri was born in Montreal, Canada. He received his D. Phil. in 2004 from Oxford University. Currently, he is an associate professor at the University of Toronto. He has held postdoctoral and visiting positions at MIT, at MSRI, and at the Fields Institute. His previous awards include the 2010 Lichnerowicz Prize and the 2013 André-Aisenstadt Prize.

For more information, contact:

Stephen Kudla , Chair
CMS Research Committee
Dept. of Mathematics
University of Toronto
or Jessica St-James
Communications and Special Projects Officer
Canadian Mathematical Society
(613) 733-2662 ext. 728

About the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS)

The CMS is the national mathematics organization whose goal is to promote the advancement, discovery, learning, and application of mathematics. The Society's activities cover the whole spectrum of mathematics including: scientific meetings, research publications, and the promotion of excellence in mathematics education at all levels. The CMS annually sponsors mathematics awards and prizes that recognize outstanding achievements.