MEDIA RELEASE — September 11, 2008

Canadian Mathematical Society

September 11, 2008

2008 CMS Doctoral Prize Winner

OTTAWA, Ontario — The Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS) is pleased to award the 2008 CMS Doctoral Prize to Dr. Matthew Greenberg (Calgary). The award will be presented at the Society’s Winter Meeting in Ottawa, Ontario (December 2008).

Matthew Greenberg's Ph.D. thesis develops a strikingly elegant approach to computing the overconvergent modular symbols attached to automorphic forms on certain higher rank groups. Greenberg's method, which builds on a fundamental idea of Pollack and Stevens, has found applications to the efficient calculation of p-adic L-functions attached to forms on GL(n), and of Mordell-Weil groups of elliptic curves defined over imaginary quadratic fields. Greenberg's more recent work makes substantial strides towards generalizing the definition of so-called “Stark-Heegner points”, and provides the most satisfactory general framework for studying these objects.

Matthew Greenberg received his B.Sc. in 2000 from the University of Manitoba and his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from McGill University in 2002 and 2006 under the supervisions of Eyal Goren and Henri Darmon, respectively. Subsequently, he was awarded an NSERC postdoctoral fellowship which he held at Harvard University and at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Bonn (Germany). In January 2008, Matthew took up a tenure-track position at the University of Calgary. His research interests include theoretical and computational aspects of algebraic number theory and arithmetic geometry, with a focus on applications of the theory of modular forms to the construction of rational points on elliptic curves.

For more information, contact:

Dr. Graham P. Wright
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (613) 562-5702
Dr. Edward Bierstone
Chair, CMS Research Committee
Department of Mathematics,
University of Toronto
Tel: (416) 978-4347