November 19, 2004


OTTAWA, Ontario -- Dr. Victor Havin (St. Petersburg) and Dr. Javad Mashreghi (Laval) will be awarded the G. de B. Robinson Prize for 2004. The awards will be presented at the CMS 2004 Winter Meeting Banquet on December 12th at the Hilton Bonaventure Hotel in Montreal, QC.

The G. de B. Robinson Award was inaugurated to recognize the publication of excellent papers in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics and the Canadian Mathematical Bulletin and to encourage the submission of the highest quality papers to these journals. The first award was presented for papers that appeared in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics in 1994-1995.

The 2004 G. de B. Robinson Award is awarded jointly to Victor Havin and Javad Mashreghi for their two papers "Admissible Majorants for Model Subspaces of H2, Part I: Slow Winding of the Generating Inner Function" and "Admissible Majorants for Model Subspaces H2, Part II: Fast Winding of the Generating Inner Function" which were published in the Canadian Journal of Mathematics, Volume 55 (2003), no. 6, pages 1231- 1263 and 1264 - 1301.

These papers produce striking results on admissible majorants attached to model subspaces of the Hardy space of functions in the upper half-plane, leading to a novel perspective on the Multiplier Theorem of Beurling and Malliavin, one of the deepest results of harmonic analysis in the twentieth century.

Written in a careful and engaging style, providing both a lucid survey of the background, and complete enlightening proofs of their main results, these papers have recently been exploited by the authors and Fedor Nazarov to obtain a new proof of the Beurling and Malliavin Theorem that does not leave the real line, and applies to a large class of model subspaces.

Victor Havin was born in Leningrad, Russia, in 1933 and obtained his Diploma in Mathematics in 1955 and his first Ph.D. degree from Leningrad State University in 1958, under the supervision of Leonid Kantorovich. He obtained his second higher doctoral degree in 1969, also from Leningrad State University. He started teaching at the Leningrad State University in 1959 and became full professor in 1970.

Twenty Six graduate students have obtained their Ph.D. degrees under Havin's supervision. Eight of his students obtained the second higher doctoral degree and three won the Salem Prize for young analysts. Victor Havin has lectured and worked in many countries, particularly at McGill University for nine semesters. His main research has been on spaces of analytic functions, approximation, potential theory, and harmonic analysis. He is the author of nearly 100 publications, including a monograph, with B. Joericke, entitled "The Uncertainty Principle in Harmonic Analysis" which was published by Springer-Verlag in 1994.

Victor Havin obtained an Honorary Doctorate from Linkoping University, Sweden, in 1993. He was the Onsager Professor in 2000 at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, the Spencer Lecturer, Kansas State University, in 1996, and he became a distinguished scholar of the Russian Federation, awarded by the President of Russia, in 2003.

Javad Mashreghi was born in Kashan, Iran, in 1968 and received his B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering (Electronics) from the University of Tehran in 1991. He obtained his M.Sc. in Mathematics under the supervision of Arsalan Chademan from the University of Tehran in 1993.

In 1996, Javad Mashreghi moved to Canada and, in 2001, he obtained his Ph.D. under the supervision of Victor Havin (St. Petersburg University) and Paul Koosis (McGill University). Also in 2001, Mashreghi joined the staff at the Université Laval and was selected a Professeur étoile for his excellence in teaching in 2003.

In addition to holding an NSERC individual research grant, Mashreghi has two team grants from Fonds Québécois de la Recherche sur la Nature et les Technologies (FQRNT). He has also received the prestigious FCAR individual research grant for new researchers for the period 2002 to 2005. Since June 2004, he is also been an Adjunct Professor of the University of Tehran.

Mashreghi's research interest is complex analysis, in particular spaces of analytic functions, e.g. Hardy, Bergman and Dirichlet spaces, with connections to other fields including potential theory, approximation theory, Fourier analysis and harmonic analysis.

For more information:

Dr. Graham P. Wright
Executive Director
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (613) 562-5702
Cel: (613) 290-3046
     Dr. H.E.A. Eddy Campbell
Canadian Mathematical Society
Tel: (709) 737-8246