Scientific Report

The CMS/CAIMS Summer 2004 Meeting was held at Dalhousie University on June 13 - 15, 2004, and welcomed 432 participants.

The Public Lecture, entitled 'Getting at the truth', was given by **Ed Barbeau** on June 14 at 7:00 PM and was very well attended.

The plenary talks were delivered by:

Peter Cameron (Queen Mary University)

Craig Fraser (University of Toronto)

Mark Lewis (University of Alberta)

Alan C. Newell (University of Arizona/University of Warwick)

Peter Olver (University of Minnesota)

Frank T. Smith (University College London)

Mikhail Zaicev (Moscow State University)

The Canadian Mathematical Society was pleased to present lectures from their research prize winners, specifically the CMS Jeffery-Williams Lecture, given by **Joel Feldman** (University of British Columbia), and **Leo Jonker** (Queen's University), who received the first CMS Excellence in Teaching Award.

The CAIMS Research Prize Lecture was given by **Robert D. Russell** (SimonFraser University) and the CAIMS Cecil Graham Doctoral Dissertation Award Lecture was given by **Ramadan Akila** (University of Guelph).

A wide variety of fields of interest were represented in the symposia topics detailed below. Most of these are fields that are well represented by researchers in Atlantic Canada:

16th Canadian Symposium on Fluid Dynamics

(Org: Richard Karsten, Acadia University and Serpil Kocabiyik, Memorial University)

Applications of Invariant Theory to Differential Geometry

(Org: Robert Milson, Dalhousie University and Mark Fels, Utah State University)

Classical Analysis in honour of David Borwein's 80th Birthday

(Org: Jonathan Borwein, Dalhousie University, and Mike Overton, New York University)

Dynamical Systems

(Org: Michael A. Radin, Rochester Institute of Technology)

Financial Mathematics

(Org: Joe Campolieti, David Vaughan, and Yongzeng Lai, Wilfrid Laurier University)

General Topology and Topological Algebra

(Org. Ilijas Farah, York University and Vladimir Pestov, University of Ottawa)

Graphs, Games and the Web

(Org: Anthony Bonato, Wilfrid Laurier University, Jeannette Janssen, Dalhousie University, and Richard Nowakowski, Dalhousie University)

Scientific Report

History of Mathematics

(Org: Thomas Archibald, Acadia University)

Hopf Algebras and Related Topics

(Org: Yuri Bahturin, Memorial University, Margaret Beattie, Mount Allison University, Luzius Grunenfelder, Dalhousie University, Susan Montgomery, University of Southern California, and Earl Taft, Rutgers University)

Mathematical Education

(Org: Richard Hoshino, Dalhousie University and John Grant McLoughlin, University of New Brunswick)

Nonlinear Dynamics in Biology and Medicine

(Org: Shigui Ruan, Dalhousie University)

Numerical Algorithms for Differential Equations and Dynamical Systems

(Org: Tony Humphries, McGill University)

Qualitative Behaviour and Controllability of Partial Differential Equations

(Org: Holger Teismann, Acadia University)

Topology

(Org: Keith Johnson, Dalhousie University and Renzo Piccinini, University of Milan)

Topos Theory

(Org: Myles Tierney, Rutgers University and University of Quebec at Montreal)

Rounding out the programme were a session of **Contributed Papers** and a **Poster Session**.

The **NExTMAC Workshop** was organized separately from the meeting and took place on June 12, 2004.

The Meeting Committee would like to acknowledge with much thanks the financial support of the following:

Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences

le Centre de Recherches Mathematiques

The Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences

Mathematics of Information Technology and Complex Systems

Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

Acadia University

Dalhousie University

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Mount Allison University

Saint Mary's University

Maplesoft

Springer

Unisys Canada Inc.

Scientific Report

Meeting Committee

Meeting Directors:

Richard Wood (Dalhousie - CMS)
Raymond Spiteri (Dalhousie - CAIMS)

Thomas Archibald (Acadia)
Yuri Bahturin (Memorial)
Margaret Beattie (Mount Allison)
Anthony Bonato (Wilfrid Laurier)
Jonathan Borwein (Dalhousie)

Joe Campolieti (Wilfrid Laurier)

Alan Coley (Dalhousie)

Ilijas Farah (York)

Mark Fels (Utah State)

Peter Fillmore (Dalhousie)

Luzius Grunenfelder (Dalhousie)

Richard Hoshino (Dalhousie)

Tony Humphries (McGill)

Jeannette Janssen (Dalhousie)

Keith Johnson (Dalhousie)

Richard Karsten (Acadia)

Serpil Kocabiyik (Memorial)

Yongzeng Lai (Wilfrid Laurier)

John Grant McLoughlin (UNB)

Franklin Mendivil (Acadia)

Rob Milson (Dalhousie)

Susan Montgomery (USC)

Paul Muir (Saint Mary's - CAIMS ex-officio)

Richard Nowakowski (Dalhousie)

Mike Overton (NYU)

Vladimir Pestov (Ottawa)

Renzo Piccinini (Milan)

Michael Radin (Rochester Tech)

Shigui Ruan (Dalhousie)

Dick Sutherland (Dalhousie)

Earl Taft (Rutgers)

Holger Teismann (Acadia)

Myles Tierney (Rutgers)

David Vaughan (Wilfrid Laurier)

Graham Wright (CMS, ex-officio)

Local Arrangements

Chair: Peter Fillmore (Dalhousie - CMS)

Richard Nowakowski (Dalhousie)
Gretchen Smith (Dalhousie)
Paula Flemming (Dalhousie)
Pillai Balagopal (Dalhousie)
Tara Taylor (Dalhousie)
Gillman Payette (Dalhousie)

Gertrud Jeewanjee (CMS, ex-officio)